Best home theater in a box

HT-S7700 $899 it’s the only one of the three systems to support the immersive audio technology Dolby Atmos. Dolby Atmos supports height as well as surround channels. Onkyo also did the best job of balancing features and performance, and it was the easiest system to set up.

Each system in the appropriate locations in the room: The front right and left speakers were placed on either side of my TV, elevated by 24-inch stands, and the center speaker was placed below the TV. I placed the surround speakers about two feet behind my listening position. I used the cables provided with each system to connect the speakers to the A/V receiver.

I then calibrated each system using its built-in room-correction software. I used 5.1-channel mode (or Dolby Atmos mode, where appropriate) to evaluate performances with movies, and 2.1-channel mode to evaluate performances with stereophonic music. All other onboard DSP (digital signal processing) modes were disabled.


Leave a comment

Leave a comment